Amyn Sayani
Amyn SayaniPresident
Amyn Sayani is currently the Director, Medical Evidence at AstraZeneca Canada, where he is accountable for all real-world evidence, outcomes research studies, and externally sponsored research across multiple therapy areas.
Neal Davies
Neal DaviesPast President
Neal is a researcher, administrator, teacher, pharmacist and pharmaceutical scientist. Internationally renowned in drug investigations from discovery to patient recovery. Neal is currently the President of CSPS while also undertaking his duties with University of Alberta’s Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.
Noriko Daneshtalab
Noriko DaneshtalabPresident Elect
Dr. Daneshtalab graduated from University of Alberta with her B.Sc. (Pharmacology; 1998) and PhD (Pharmaceutical Sciences; 2005). She completed two post-doctorates, first in John P. Robarts institute for research in London, Ontario (2004-2006; Cell Biology) and second in Memorial University of Newfoundland (2007-2010; Cardiovascular). Her work helped characterize aspects of GPCR signaling, membrane trafficking, and protein-receptor interaction (London), and the multi-factorial mechanisms involved in hemorrhagic stroke development in stroke-prone animal models (Newfoundland).
Michael Doschak
Michael DoschakTreasurer
Michael is a Professor and the Assistant Dean (International) with the Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta. He also serves as an Adjunct Associate Professor with the Department of Biomedical Engineering as well as with the Department of Orthodontics, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry.
Risini Weeratna
Risini WeeratnaSecretary
Risini Weeratna is a Senior Research Officer and the Team Lead for Cancer Immunology at the National Research Council of Canada (NRC).
Fakhreddin (Mo) Jamali
Fakhreddin (Mo) JamaliDirector and Founder
Fakhreddin (Mo) is a Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Alberta. He is the founding President of CSPS and the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, the first open access, fully electronic peer-reviewed journal in the field.
Marie-Lynn Al-Hawat
Marie-Lynn Al-Hawat Trainee Representative
Marie-Lynn Al-Hawat pursued a Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry and Health at Sorbonne University in Paris. She is currently in her second year of PhD studies in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Montreal, under the supervision of Dr. Simon Matoori, with co-supervisors Dr. Sylvie Marleau and Dr. Christopher Rose. Marie-Lynn is working on developing advanced biomedical technologies and strategies for diagnostics, targeted treatments, and therapeutic interventions using nanoparticles, hydrogels and vesicular reaction compartments.
Ron Boch
Ron BochDirector
Ron is the Vice President, Biotechnology and Industry Affairs with lead responsibility for BIOTECanada’s policy development reflecting the diverse nature of Canada’s health, industrial and agricultural biotechnology sectors.
Jack Bufton
Jack BuftonDirector - Trainee Mentor
Growing up, Jack had a passion for chemistry and broad interest in most things science. He immigrated to Canada in 2015 and completed a bachelors specializing in Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Toronto (U of T). Jack is currently in his third year of PhD studies working with Dr. Christine Allen at U of T.
Emmanuel Ho
Emmanuel HoDirector
Professor Emmanuel Ho is currently an Associate Professor and Graduate Office in the School of Pharmacy at the University of Waterloo. He is also the Theme Lead for the Therapeutics and Theranostics section of the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology. Emmanuel has served CSPS in the past as Treasurer and is currently an Associate Editor for the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.
Afsaneh Lavasanifar
Afsaneh LavasanifarDirector
Dr. Afsaneh Lavasanifar’s area of expertise is pharmaceutics and drug delivery. She is a professor in the Pharmaceutical Sciences division of the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta and has a joint appointment with the Department of Chemical and Medical Engineering at the Faculty of Engineering at the same university. She is also the Scientific Chief Officer and Vice President of Meros Pharma, a spinoff company based on the technology developed in her lab.
Co PhamDirector
Co is the Executive Director of the Centre for Regulatory Excellence, Statistics and Trials in the Biologics and Radiopharmaceutical Drugs Directorate at Health Canada. Previously, he was the Associate Director, Office of Clinical Trials, Special Access Program, Therapeutic Products Directorate.
Truong Ta
Truong TaDirector
Dr. Truong Ta has worked in the life sciences sector spanning vaccines and pharmaceuticals for 20+ years. He has worked at several biotech organizations and held positions of increasing responsibilities in R&D and Commercial Operations including Head of Business Planning, Marketing, Immunization Policy, and Business Operations at Sanofi Canada. More recently, Truong was an Associate VP, Commercial Operations at Medicago, a Canadian Biotech company developing plant-based vaccines and therapeutics before joining API. Truong is a past Chair of BIOTECanada’s Vaccine Industry Committee and former member of Innovative Medicines Canada Senior Advisory Group.