The 2023 CSPS Awards and Poster Awards were presented at the 2023 CSPS/CC-CRS Symposium in Toronto. The Society would like to congratulate all of the awardees and wish them continued success in their pharmaceutical sciences research.


CSPS Lifetime Achievement Award
Presented in 2023 to four (4) outstanding individuals who have dedicated their careers to the advancement of pharmaceutical sciences in Canada:

Dr. Frank Abbott, PhD, FCSPS

Dr. Isadore Kanfer, PhD, FAAPS, FCSPS, FPS (South Africa), MRPharmS (Gt.Brit)

Dr. Agnes V. Klein, MD, DPH, FCSPS

Dr. Elizabeth Vadas, PhD, FAAPS, FCSPS

CSPS Fellow Award 2023 – This award is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated leadership in advancing the cause of pharmaceutical research and development in Canada

Dr. Ildiko Badea, PhD, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Ron Boch, PhD, BIOTECanada

Dr. Noriko Daneshtalab, PhD, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Dr. Co Pham, Health Canada

Gattefossé Award in Lipid-Based Drug Delivery– Recognizing outstanding research in pharmaceutical sciences by a graduate student for his/her work demonstrating progress in the field of Lipid-Based Drug Delivery (LBDD)

Jin Wang (University of Waterloo) Exosomes as a novel lipid drug delivery carrier for potential applications in wound healing

CSPS National Undergraduate Student Research Program Awards 2023
Undergraduate pharmacy student award winners from participating Pharmacy Schools across Canada. Congratulations to the following students:

Angel Nong (University of Alberta) Exposure-Toxicity Relationships of Tacrolimus on the Development of Post-Transplant Diabetes in Renal Transplant Patients

Wen Liao (University of British Columbia) Developing a Pharmacy-Specific Suicide-Prevention Program for E2P PharmD Students

Sarah Smit and Brandon MacDonald (Dalhousie University) Role of Cytochrome P450 in Aldehyde Oxidase Inactivation by Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor-Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors

Henri Fournier (Université Laval) Predictive performance of pharmacokinetic models of rifampicin in tuberculosis patients

Catherine Lê (Université de Montréal) Intracellular trafficking of the scavenger receptor CD36 via the endosomal-lysosomal pathway in macrophages

Adrienne Nagy (University of Saskatchewan) Method Development and Validation of Reverse-Phase HPLC Assay for Quantification of Mycophenolic Acid and Plasma Extraction Procedures

Jack Lu (University of Toronto) – Genome-wide CRISPR Suppressor Screen Reveals Proneural Master Regulatory and Autophagy Regulator Work Synergistically to Promote Neuronal Commitment in Glioblastoma Stem Cells

Bhawani Jain (University of Waterloo) – Impact of Vitamin C Supplementation on Oxidizing Cytotoxic Anti-Cancer Therapy (ACT): A Systematic Review



Antoine A. Noujaim Award of Excellence – sponsored by the University of Alberta Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences ($1,000) – Iulia Spataru (University of Saskatchewan) – Functionalized nanodiamonds as gene delivery agents: Biocompatibility and biodistribution

Drug Delivery Award – sponsored by Drs. Kishor and Ellen Wasan ($1,000) – Fatma Moawad (Université de Montréal) Design of Microneedles for Non-Invasive Administration of Sustained Release Anti-Psoriatic Formulations

CSPS Memorial Poster Award 2023 – sponsored by CSPS ($500) – Shirley Wang (University of Waterloo) Novel Piperine Derivatives as Beta Amyloid Aggregation Inhibitors

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($500) – Malaz Yousef (University of Alberta) A Novel Dissolution Model to Investigate the Release and Uptake of Oral Lymphotropic Drug Products

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CC-CRS ($250) – Christina Saed (University of Alberta) The antianginal ranolazine fails to improve glycemia and hepatic steatosis in obese liver-specific pyruvate dehydrogenase deficient male mice

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CC-CRS ($250) – Ridhdhi Dave (McMaster University) Tunable mucoadhesion and mucopenetration using self-assembled brush-block copolymer-based nanoparticles

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($250) – Jack Bufton (University of Toronto) Exploring the microfluidic design space for cross-linked poly(lactide-co-allyl-glycolide) microparticles

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($250) – Conor O’Croinin (University of Alberta) Analytical Detection of Cannflavins in Cannabis sativa Extracts and Formulations

Undergraduate Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($200) – Catherine Lê (Université de Montréal) Intracellular trafficking of the scavenger receptor CD36 via the endosomal-lysosomal pathway in macrophages

Congratulations to all the awardees!